Virginia Board of Education Committee on School and Division Accountability Wednesday, March 16, 2016 1:00 p.m.

22nd Floor Conference Room, James Monroe Building 101 N. 14th Street, Richmond, Virginia

Welcome and Opening Comments Diane Atkinson. Chair

Approval of Minutes of the February 24, 2016, Committee Meeting

Public Comment*

Profile of a Graduate: Policy Context

Dr. Cynthia Cave, Assistant Superintendent for Policy & Communications

Aligning the High School Experience with Workplace Readiness

Panel of Governor's STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) Academies

Governor's STEM Academy at the Burton Center for Arts and Technology, Roanoke County

Governor's STEM Academy at George C. Marshall High School, Fairfax County

Governor's STEM Academy for Engineering, Marketing, and Information Technology Studies, Virginia Beach

Panel of CTE Centers

New Horizons Regional Education Center

Arlington Career Center

Discussion with Dr. Patrick K. Murphy, Superintendent, Arlington County Public Schools

Report on Local Alternative Assessments

Dr. Billy Haun, Chief Academic Officer and Assistant Superintendent for Instruction Shelley Loving-Ryder, Assistant Superintendent for Student Assessment & School Improvement

Report on Visits to Schools with Notable Gains in Student Achievement *Jason Ellis, Office of Test Administration, Scoring & Reporting*

Concluding Remarks and Adjournment *Diane Atkinson, Chair*

* The Committee on School and Division Accountability will provide an opportunity for members of the public to address the committee at its meetings, as appropriate, during the public comment portion of the meeting. During the public comment portion of any committee of the Board, the Board requests that members of the public only address the committee on matters on the committee's published agenda and any matters added to the agenda during the meeting by the committee. Requests to address the Board's committee during the public comment portion of the meeting shall include the subject to be discussed and the name of the speaker. Requests to address the Board's committee during the public comment portion of the meeting should be submitted to the Department of Education (804-225-2924 or Melissa.Luchau@doe.virginia.gov) in advance of the meeting, but may be submitted the day of the meeting, at the discretion of the committee chairperson. In honoring such requests, the committee will limit such comments to three minutes for each speaker at the discretion of the committee chairperson. The committee chairperson may, in his or her discretion, extend the public comment portion of the meeting, allocate the time available for public comment, adjust the order of speakers, or take other reasonable measures to ensure that the committee hears multiple views on any matter presented to the committee. Public comment speakers will be encouraged to provide multiple written copies (11) of their comments or other materials amplifying their views.